Journal Of Austrian Studies Graduate Student Essay Prize

Call for Submissions: Journal of Austrian Studies Graduate Student Essay Prize 2023

The 2023 Journal of Austrian Studies Graduate Student Essay Prize seeks to highlight exceptional scholarship from students and early career scholars that presents new perspectives on the history, literature and culture of Austria, Austro-Hungary, and the former Habsburg territories.
Submissions may be informed by a wide range of thematic and theoretical approaches including (but not limited to): History, Literary studies, Biography, Disability Studies, Environmental Studies, Ethnicity and Nationality Studies, Film and Media Studies, Gender, Queer, and Trans
Studies, Holocaust and Genocide Studies, Intellectual History and Philosophy, Memory Studies, Music and Sound Studies, Migration and Exile Studies, Politics and Political Theory, Postcolonial
Studies, Linguistics and Translation, Theater, Dance, and Visual Art. Submissions for the prize must be unpublished.


Graduate students as well as those who have received their Ph.D. no earlier than 2021 and do not currently hold a tenure-track or permanent faculty position are invited to submit essays for consideration. Essays should be 6000-8000 words and follow the journal’s submission guidelines, which are available here. Entries may not be simultaneously submitted to or under
consideration for publication in another venue. Submissions will be judged by the ASA Prize Committee and should be sent to no later than August 15th, 2023.
Please include an abstract, as well as a brief author’s bio (150-200 words) and a CV. The author of the winning essay will have the opportunity to work with a team of expert reviewers to prepare the manuscript for publication in the journal in 2024. They will also receive a free 12-
month-membership to ASA (which includes a subscription to JAS), as well as a $250 cash award.


The ASA DEI committee has compiled a list of suggestions for inclusive language. Applicants are invited to refer to this resource for guidance.


Prize Committee 2023:

Caroline Kita (chair), Nikhil Sathe, Eva Kuttenberg, Gerald Steinacher, and Alys George